Retellings of all Kinds

I love retellings, I think they are fascinating and can add so much to a classic fairy tale, myth, or even wonderful novels from the past centuries! So when I came across this wonderful flowchart I just had to share! Epic Reads did a great job with it and I highly suggest checking out their website for a more detailed view of flowchart (plus it’ll be updated this December and I can’t wait to see the new version!)

What are some of your favorite retellings?

6 comments

  1. First of all, I’m so glad I found your blog! Loving your posts! One of my favorite retellings is East by Edith Pattou. It’s based on “East of the Sun and West of the Moon,” the Norwegian version of Beauty and the Beast. (The beast is a polar bear. It’s amazing.)

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! (I’m a huge fan of yours as well – gotta love classical music!). I’ve heard nothing but good things about that one and have had so many people recommend it. Haven’t gotten to it yet though! I personally love retellings of Twelve Dancing Princesses – have read all that I have found! I especially love Princess of the Midnight Ball by Jessica Day George.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yup! There’s Princess of the Silver Woods one, too. I honestly don’t remember if I’ve read that one yet or not, though! The only two times I’ve read Princess of Glass I’ve read it straight through in a day…

        Like

Leave a Reply

