Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the amazing The Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a new theme and you can participate as often as you’d like.

Since I was a child I’ve gone to Rehoboth Beach, Delaware every year for a beach vacation. Over the years my family has developed a number of traditions, from eating chocolate croissants from Lingo’s to playing shuffleboard in the park. My favorite has been the yearly trip to the lovely independent bookstore – Browseabout Books. Here I was allowed to choose one book (or two depending on how much begging I did…one year I convinced my grandmother to buy 5 books for me!) to read while on the beach – though it’s not like I hadn’t brought at least 4 others. It was always special to choose a new book from this quaint little bookstore.

So, I thought, since I am currently at the beach, that this would be a fantastic week to do Top Ten Tuesday.

Without farther ado….

  1. Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater – my sister promised to get me this one…she still has not.
  2. Poor Things by Alasdair Grey – I absolutely loved reading Lanark and a professor of mine recommended I read this book.
  3. The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – It’s a Scottish fairy tale retellings. What’s not to love? (Plus it came out when I was in Scotland and I wanted to get it while I was there…but alas, I had no room in my suitcase for it).
  4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab- I’ve had so many people recommend this book I feel I need to read it.
  5. Raven Girl by Audrey Niffenegger – They created a ballet that looks gorgeous based off this book. Since I couldn’t see the ballet I want to read the book (plus it has a great cover)
  6. The Salt God’s Daughter by Ilie Ruby – Another gorgeous cover and based off of mythology. I just desperately want it to grace my shelves
  7. American Gods by Neil Gaimen – Want to read this one before the new show comes out. Plus it is awesome. And I’ve been meaning to get it for so long.
  8. I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak – I absolutely love this book. I actually read a good chunk of it last time I was at Rehoboth. Unfortunately it is my sister’s book. So I want a copy for myself.
  9. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – Another book that I devoured while at the beach. I borrowed this one from the library, but find myself regularly wanting to go back and read again or to just look up quotes. I need it on my shelf.
  10. Lord of the Rings Trilogy by…well we all know who it’s by – I already have this on my shelf. But it’s the mass market paperback copies (not the movie covers fortunately) and I believe that everyone needs a nice copy of LotR on their shelves. It just seems right.

So that’s my top ten books I’d by if someone gave me a gift card. What books would you get?

6 comments

Leave a Reply

